Board of Trustees

Office Bearers & Trustees 2014/15:

President: Alan Blackie – Started his career as a volunteer youth worker and post qualifying was promoted within the Community Education ranks of Lothian Region becoming an Area Officer and then Deputy Principle Officer. Following re-organisation in 1996 he moved to East Lothian Council becoming Director of Children’s Services before being appointed Chief Executive. He retired in 2011 but remained active on the board of Young Scot whom he chaired for a number of years.



Chair: Dona Milne – Connected to LAYC for many years having undertaken placement on route to her Comm Educ qualifaction.  Currently Senior Manager with NHS following two year secondment to Scottish Government as Public Health Adviser.  Chair of LAYC for a number of years.

Vice -Chair: Susie Jamieson – She has had a long association with LAYC. Retired senior administrator at Canongate Youth Project she also played an active role in the Project’s youth clubs and was previously vice chair of Leith Academy school board. Joined the board at the AGM in 2011, serves on the Funding Sub group and was elected as a co-option at the AGM in 2013 and as Vice Chair in 2014.

Hon Treasurer: Margaret Walker – Runs Buckstone Youth Club and Project highly successful youth provision for the past 10 years with involvement in youth work going back another 20 years.  Won Sessional Youth Worker of the Year at the YouthLink Scotland Awards in 2009.  Hon. Treasurer of LAYC for the past 8 years.


Valerie Agnew – Co-ordinator of Liberton After School Club and prior to that a play worker in a variety of settings. Been using LAYC services for the last few years and joined committee after the 2009 AGM. Provides a key voice for after school clubs in membership ensuring LAYC continues to offer support to a much valued sector.

Helen Davis – Manager of West Lothian Youth Action Project, the largest voluntary youth work agency in West Lothian.  Operates dedicated provision, street work, specialist support and targeted work across the county.  Committee member over past 12 years.

Helen Kelly – Involved in LAYC for over 30 years.  Volunteer/Sessional Worker who went onto train as Community Education Worker and was the Women’s Officer for West Lothian District Council prior to the new councils.  Now Senior Administrator for a number of West Lothian Councillors.

Catriona or CC Macdougall – CC is the latest recruit to the Board having joined in January 2015. She is a part time youth worker working predominately in the west of the city and brings a front line experience and perspective to the board. CC also graduated from the PDA in Youth Work course in August 2014.

Lissa McIntyre –  Works for the BIG Project which is based within Broomhouse Primary School where she is the youth and children worker for the project. The project was set up in 2002 and is as a key provider in the locality. In addition to its regular club based provision it has developed a strong music programme, including the BIG Sing, an award winning children’s choir. Joined the board in May 2014.

Sonal Raithatha – First came to LAYC’s attention as a participant and graduate of the PDA in Youth Work course. Having expressed an interest in joining the board we couldn’t miss the chance to recruit her. In her day job she is a Peer Education Co-ordinator with Fast Forward.

Staff (non trustees):

Graham McCullochStaff Rep – Route for staff to bring issues to Board.

Ian Boardman – Attends as Director.